David Vs Goliath – Save our Bose Forest


What we are doing to the forests of the world is but a mirror reflection of what we are doing to ourselves and to one another.”
~ Mahatma Gandhi

I live a few blocks away from the Bose forest. This small forest houses animals and plant species that have been left homeless from the cuts of previous forests. The entire area where I live was once a huge forest…while I can’t go back in time; I can try my best to keep this destruction from happening…

This little forest’s trees help keeping the soil from sliding down and represent a small ecosystem, a carbon sink that helps to keep our neighbourhood fresh and clean.

The plan, which was initially rejected in July 2012 was approved two weeks ago disrespecting the opposition of most Cloverdale neighbours…how did this happen?

This “development” (do we really need more houses in Surrey?) wants to build 300 houses, between townhouses and detached, which will also increase the already overwhelmed and crowded local schools and the traffic in the area…

When I moved to Canada, I had this idea of an extremely environmentalist country where Nature was first, as it should be: we are part of it, all our food, resources and economy come from Nature…without Nature, no economy is possible…

I have learned the hard way that here, same as in other places in the world, Nature is not even second…it is sometimes last!

If you care about keeping Surrey fresh and clean, if you believe that we need more community gardens, parks and original trees and forests and less “developments”, please join and “like” this page: https://www.facebook.com/SaveTheBoseForest

And sign the petition here.

You may or may not live close to Cloverdale, but today is us and tomorrow they will come for you…let’s save what little we have left…

I am done with great things and big things, great institutions and big success, and I am for those tiny, invisible molecular moral forces that work from individual to individual, creeping through the crannies of the world like so many rootlets, or like the capillary oozing of water, yet which if you give them time, will rend the hardest monuments of man’s pride.”

~William James

About Silvia TIC

Welcome to these exercises inside the dimensions of what we are: we are what we dream and think and feel, but we are also the different characters we perform, not just the roles (mother, wife, friend), but those things we call “occupations” or “earning a life”. More than anything, we are part of a giant ecosystem and all what we do connects and impacts others (people, animals, plants, air, water...)

Posted on July 16, 2013, in Community Resources, Resilient Living and Choices, Simply Living, Social Justice, Sustainable Living. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Awesome blog! Do you have any tips for aspiring writers? I’m hoping to start my own website soon but I’m a little lost on everything. Would you propose starting with a free platform like WordPress or go for a paid option? There are so many options out there that I’m totally overwhelmed .. Any tips? Thanks a lot!|

    Like

    • Hi Linux vps,
      I played with the idea of blogging/writing for years. I never followed through because I saw no point with so many others writing out there…until recently! You have to find your “topic” and just start. Sometimes the topic/theme takes a while to take shape, to find its way through. I write about what inspires or outrages me in this world. Try WP free first and keep it low profile until you find your own voice and feel comfortable with what you write. Save all what your materials somewhere else so if something happens you have a back up. Good luck!

      Like

