Strange World, Indeed


“I, a stranger and afraid, in a world I never made” ~ A.E. Housman

 “The world is full of obvious things which nobody by any chance ever observes.”
~ Arthur Conan Doyle, The Hound of the Baskervilles

Have you ever wondered how or why some things that are “common” make no sense at all?

I have a collection of these…

For example, I love cats. I come from a country where cats are revered. There is a huge botanical garden in Buenos Aires that houses more than 100 cats. People care for them and feed them… here in Canada, people seem to also care for animals and many have cats as pets. But the law says cats (and dogs) have to be spayed or neutered. While I agree that too many “unwanted” cats may end up on the streets…I wonder where the cats will come from if everybody follows this rule…and what about those who commit to care for the kittens (or puppies) but want to allow their friends the wonderful experience of parenthood?

I still remember when I was little. I grew up with a female dog: Pipa. I followed her everywhere, she was my best friend. During my childhood, I witnessed the birth of many kittens and a few puppies, and when I was 12, I actually helped my aunt to do surgery on one of Pipa’s daughters (Dulce) who was having trouble while giving birth her babies.

One of the reasons our children are so detached from Nature is because we deprive them from these most basic wonders of life…

I truly miss births, and then witnessing the strength, the knowledge of these beautiful little mothers caring for their babies. Cats have taught me so much, from the terrible to the sublime -like when one of my dearest female cats eat her own babies, and I learned to accept that Nature has its ways to keep things running when things go wrong: these babies were unhealthy and wouldn’t survive; or like when I rescued two newborn kitten from the street and see their eyes looking at me with an ancient knowledge I will never forget…

Another of these “mystery” things is how people continue suffering when doctors can’t find anything wrong, or put the other way, how bad our current medical system works.

I live with chronic pain and all sorts of small ailments, but according to all the tests (and doctors who are paid triple or more of what I earn) nothing is wrong with my health. I still recall my grandma’s doctor: he would come to her home at any time of day or night and my grandma has his personal phone number. He would know all her family and every detail of what she ate or did. Most “medicine” was preventive…long time ago, doctors used to create a “story”: they would ask about your aunts’ health and how your ancestors died. They would ask about your food preferences and how you slept. Now they barely see you (for 15 minutes max) and don’t bring more than one “complaint”, they can listen to just one at a time. I find more help through Google.

The next one has a social background: how do people live (and support a family) with a 12/hour wage in a province like BC where houses (small ones) average $400k and renting a basement cost at least $800/month? How do they eat, pay for gas or bus, buy clothes, etc? Well, that is exactly the average my clients (all newcomers to Canada) earn, when they can find a job…

However, where I live (Surrey, BC) you see hundreds of new “developments”: houses and condos are built where forests and gardens used to thrive; wildlife is left homeless or indirectly killed and their habitats replaced by thousands of houses who nobody is able to afford…how many more people are living here? How many of those can afford a $300K condo or a $1500/month rent? Plus $200 strata fees? On the top of $900/month for food and personal care? Oh, I forgot: credit cards and an eternal, unrealistic mortgage.

This reminds me or Article 17 from the Human Rights declaration: “Everyone has the right to own property alone as well as in association with others”…???

This is another mystery: according to Article 25 of the Human Rights declaration: “Everyone has the right to a standard of living adequate for the health and well-being of himself and of his family, including food, clothing, housing…” but not just is difficult (if not impossible) for many in this country (and this world) to own their own land and build or own their own house, but there exist lots of laws and restrictions that prevent you from growing your own food, raising chicken in your backyard or a common area with your neighbours or just access unused land to fulfill your “rights”

I have many others, sometimes, I collect them in notebooks: how come people with masters and Phds are so dependent or inept? How come we have to write letters to a distant “authority” just to be able to communicate with our own neighbours? Why do we have to accept that big corporations lie in their products’ labels or don’t label at all? How and when did we accept that we could send our aging parents to “homes” instead of caring for them at our houses? How and when did we accept that our children have to be deprived from their childhood and forced into early rat-races so they can “compete” with their peers when they grow up? How come we became slaves of our lifestyles? Why it is that when the information about climate change and resources depletion, etc. is so widely available through the Internet and books, so many are still numbed into unsustainable ways and lifestyles? Why is that when you stop being ignorant about these things you still don’t act?

What a strange world we live in…Said Alice to the Queen of hearts
~ Lewis Carroll, Alice in Wonderland

About Silvia TIC

Welcome to these exercises inside the dimensions of what we are: we are what we dream and think and feel, but we are also the different characters we perform, not just the roles (mother, wife, friend), but those things we call “occupations” or “earning a life”. More than anything, we are part of a giant ecosystem and all what we do connects and impacts others (people, animals, plants, air, water...)

Posted on July 22, 2013, in Reflections on an unsustainable world, Resilient Living and Choices, Simply Living, Social Justice, Sustainable Living. Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off on Strange World, Indeed.

Comments are closed.

