My Secret Garden


And the secret garden bloomed and bloomed and every morning revealed new miracles.”
~ Frances Hodgson Burnett, The Secret Garden

It always amazes me to look at the little, wrinkled brown seeds and think of the rainbows in ’em,” said Captain Jim. “When I ponder on them seeds I don’t find it nowise hard to believe that we’ve got souls that’ll live in other worlds. You couldn’t hardly believe there was life in them tiny things, some no bigger than grains of dust, let alone colour and scent, if you hadn’t seen the miracle, could you?”
~ L.M. Montgomery, Anne’s House of Dreams

I can’t believe is October(6) and we have 20 C0 and sun…my plants are still thriving: today I got what seems to be my last grape and cherry tomatoes. The plants are dying, but still producing them! My black tomatoes felt the rain and cold from the last three weeks, so I took them, wrapped inside a newspaper and tucked them in a dark corner of my cabinet. I checked them today and with the exception of two, all were big and dark-red!

I spent yesterday’s afternoon drying kale (making kale chips with olive oil and salt), celery, mint and other garden herbs and veggies. Today, I sowed a few garlic bulbs and checked the status of my cover crops for the winter.

I have plenty of clover and some wild flowers that will make a great green manure while protecting the soil over the upcoming winter. A friend of mine has sent me fall rye, white mustard and hairy vetch too. Hope they don’t arrive too late so I can sow them too.

But what greatly surprised me most was the great work my wormies have done! I have been feeding them kitchen scraps (some go to them, most go to the regular composting bin) and last time I checked they were a bit lazy. Not sure if the cold helped, but today they had great black humus for me: about 10 cm height was enough to cover the garlic and some of the herbs I’ll bring inside soon.

My second surprise was my pepper plants: while three are new and sown this past spring, one has been there since last year. It became a dry stick after losing all its leaves and I left it there as it had great peppers last year…I noticed that it flowered again this summer and wondered if it would produce anything at all. Today I saw two peppers coming! My other pepper plants (chocolate and purple pepper) are still producing fruits…aren’t we in Canada? Isn’t this fall season?

This week has not been a good one for me people-wise. Strange things have happened and I had been bitter-sweet about it all. I had extremely rich experiences (like Monday at the Sunshine Coast free Permaculture day , yesterday at A Rocha with my VS/FAC friends or chatting with Adam at my CSA) ; I also started the Transition training at TN and was offered the Food for Thought Community Garden coordinator volunteer position. But I was also let down by a dear friend and the stupidity and stubbornness of some people.

But Nature never lets me down: just looking at my plants, my worms and my pets today gave me hope. Nature gives me strength to cope with all these things, even with my internal monsters.

I can’t let down a friend like that.

But always, to her, red and green cabbages were to be jade and burgundy, chrysoprase and prophyry. Life has no weapons against a woman like that.”
~ Edna Ferber

About Silvia TIC

Welcome to these exercises inside the dimensions of what we are: we are what we dream and think and feel, but we are also the different characters we perform, not just the roles (mother, wife, friend), but those things we call “occupations” or “earning a life”. More than anything, we are part of a giant ecosystem and all what we do connects and impacts others (people, animals, plants, air, water...)

Posted on October 7, 2013, in About Silvia, Food Preservation, Gardening, Growing Food, Permaculture, Reflections on an unsustainable world, Resilience, Resilient Living and Choices, Simply Living. Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off on My Secret Garden.

Comments are closed.

