Imagine ~ Winter Solstice Celebration


fairy door small

The moment you doubt whether you can fly, you cease for ever to be able to do it.”
~ J.M. Barrie, Peter Pan

So come with me, where dreams are born, and time is never planned. Just think of happy things, and your heart will fly on wings, forever, in Never Never Land!”
~ J.M. Barrie, Peter Pan: Fairy Tales

December 21 is winter’s solstice in the Northern Hemisphere, and there are many traditions and celebrations that tell us what this day means or what we should do. I grew up with a mixture of traditions from many places, something that I am grateful for as it allows me to see through many windows and respect them all without strictly adhering to any.

In one of the countries I lived, people would write their “wishes” in small pieces of paper and save them in a box or bury them; the following December 21st, they would burn those wishes that had come true and repeat the process. People would ask for things such as a better job (or getting a job if they didn’t have one), losing weight, improving their relationships, finding a partner, graduating with good grades and so on…

Although I don’t believe in those things (I believe in hard work and willingness, being proactive and dedicated towards the things you want happening in your life), I am, deep inside, a dreamer…I dream about the things I want in my life and my future…and then start working to make them happen. I learned that we “control” only a small portion of what “happens to us”, but collectively, we have much more “control” and power than we think we have…

Life has also showed me small windows of magic where I have experienced and seen impossible things happening, some of them truly mysterious, like finding an unexpected soul mate or connecting with an author miles away from us; some more earthly such as a bunch of people dreaming and designing the future in a Permaculture community…

Approaching the end of this year, I also want to celebrate what it brought to me. This is from far one of the best years in my life, a year in which I:

  • Met lots of new friends: people from the Village Surrey in Transition, from my summer PDC course, from the BC Food Systems Network, from the Food Action Coalition, from the Organic Food Co-op, from my CSA…people I met via email and through this blog, amazing people doing incredible things with their lives and for their families and communities
  • Finally learned Permaculture and could see the “Matrix” or web of life, really experienced and felt it, not just study or talk about it.
  • Started a new community garden where I am not just its coordinator but, most importantly, part of a community of growers
  • Started a little worm factory and improved the compost system I was using
  • Paved the path with new skills and experiences for a new me in a near future, a new me who may live very differently and work in a very different environment for a very different goal

Today, I will risk my faith a bit further: I will throw some of my wildest dreams for the future here and invite you to choose and add your own through the comments section, or just create your private ones and share them with family and friends. Today I will conjure up all the fairies and forces of the world, as I want to believe these dreams are possible:

  • That people stop buying and accumulated things, mostly those things whose life cycles are destructive of other beings, including humans.
  • That we all decide to plan the use of the fossil fuels we still have left underground: use them wisely for emergencies and as a transition towards a more sustainable culture and not to drive one-passenger cars or overheat giant shopping malls and offices
  • That people in neighbourhoods organize themselves to grow local, organic food and support each other in their needs, giving opportunities for entrepreneurship and social enterprises
  • That schools start teaching children skills that really matter and values worth to live for instead of making them compete and disrespect their individual needs, paces and calls.
  • That families welcome back the multi-generational model where the elder and the youth wouldn’t be kicked out and put in daycares or pushed to leave
  • That animals start being considered as beings with rights and we stop crowding them up in farms and using them for cruel and unnecessary research
  • That people understand (in their hearts, not their heads) that every single “choice” they make has an impact somewhere else in somebody else’s life
  • That everybody who wants to work has a job, even if this means that people overall work less hours or days to share their workplace with others and relax more
  • That re-training is free and open to everybody so people can “work” in different trades and professions if they so want, allowing them to bring more passion and creativity and also allowing others (young and old) to explore all possibilities life has to offer
  • That people start actually living their lives in creative and productive ways instead of busying themselves in boring errands and jobs and stuffing themselves with TV and “stuff”

I have many other dreams: for myself and my family, for my dearest friends and co-workers, even for the people whose lives I am blessed and honoured to touch every day. I’ll keep those dreams private for only the fairies to see…I know they know I believe in them.

El torreonBut all fairytales have rules, and perhaps it’s their rules that actually distinguish one fairytale from the other. These rules never need to be understood. They only need to be followed. If not, what they promise won’t come true.”
~ Jostein Gaarder

About Silvia TIC

Welcome to these exercises inside the dimensions of what we are: we are what we dream and think and feel, but we are also the different characters we perform, not just the roles (mother, wife, friend), but those things we call “occupations” or “earning a life”. More than anything, we are part of a giant ecosystem and all what we do connects and impacts others (people, animals, plants, air, water...)

Posted on December 22, 2013, in Balance Work and Life, Christmas, Community Resilience, Energy Descent Action Plan, Food Security, Future, Gift Economy, Green Economy, Life Changes, Life Choices, No Waste Living, Permaculture, Resilient Living and Choices, Right Livelihood, Simply Living, Social Justice, Sustainable Living, Transition Initiatives, Winter Solstice. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. We missed you at the meditation in Green Timbers Forest yesterday! It was a beautiful setting… snow on the ground, cool breeze, deep silence. Much of your ideas above came up in the dialogue that followed. I like your comments about “small windows of magic!”

    Like

