A Post from the Garden


However many years she lived, Mary always felt that ‘she should never forget that first morning when her garden began to grow’.” ~ Frances Hodgson Burnett, The Secret Garden

Borage

My post today is a very simple one. No thoughts on big issues of our times such as Peak Oil, Peak Resources or Climate Change…no stories about immigrants or how to go from job searching to getting your own right livelihood. No tips or resources on resilience communities or households and how to prepare for emergencies…

My post today is about a little piece of “land” (less than 2X4 mts) and some containers, none of which I “own” but is sitting in the house we call “home”…

This has been a very interesting and moving week:

  • I finished an intensive online course on how to find my niche and function in Permaculture (it helped me to define what I already knew: that I am good at career planning/coaching people for their right livelihood as well as in emergency preparedness/disaster management or what is called “design for disasters/catastrophe” in Permaculture and in EDAP/resilience building for communities and households…)
  • I attended a class on “water systems” in Bowen Island as part of my advanced PDC and met with a bunch of great people, enjoying the sun and the beauty of the island…
  • I got an opportunity to work on DM (Disaster Management) at a deeper level (still to confirm)
  • I got four more gigs to present EP/DM at community centres and as part of a PDC
  • I received some news that may affect/delay the launch of my career path but may also impact in a good way (not yet confirmed)
  • My two children graduated two weeks earlier than it was planned due to the BC Teachers’ strike…new paths for both of them await in the upcoming months
  • I finished my Permaculture Diploma Learning Plan draft, so I can move forward to actually implement it less haphazardly as I was doing
  • I kind of finished my holistic goal (now need to move to test it with some techniques and move towards implementing it)…more details on this will follow…
  • I made two interesting proposition (based on my holistic goal) and one was already accepted J
  • As a result of all this and overbooking myself (as usual), I fell sick!

So where I would go when the world is just too much and overwhelming?

Here is my corner, my food security, my health insurance, my emergency preparedness, my source of happiness and peace…even my companions who don’t ask much and give a lot of beauty and love…

cat and tomatoe plant potatoes my corner in the world my deck my community plot my garden plot

And then it occurred to me that even when I have the dream of using Permaculture to help communities and individuals, just the fact that it changed me so profoundly may be, already, a success…

There can be no other occupation like gardening in which, if you were to creep up behind someone at their work, you would find them smiling”. ~Mirabel Osler

About Silvia TIC

Welcome to these exercises inside the dimensions of what we are: we are what we dream and think and feel, but we are also the different characters we perform, not just the roles (mother, wife, friend), but those things we call “occupations” or “earning a life”. More than anything, we are part of a giant ecosystem and all what we do connects and impacts others (people, animals, plants, air, water...)

Posted on June 13, 2014, in About Silvia, Activism, Balance Work and Life, Carbon Detox, Career Development and Job Search, Career Planning, Climate Change, Community Gardens, Community Resilience, Disaster Management, Emergency Preparedness, Energy Descent Action Plan, Financial Independence, Food Security, Food Sovereignty, Future Scenarios, Gardening, Gift Economy, Growing Food, Holistic Goals, Immigrant Integration and Settlement, Independence, Life Changes, Life Choices, No Waste Living, Peak Oil, Permaculture, Resilient Living and Choices, Right Livelihood, Sharing Economy, Simply Living, Sustainable Living, Work from Home. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. a garden is an oasis and a place to escape, your garden is lovely. I love this quote:-) “There can be no other occupation like gardening in which, if you were to creep up behind someone at their work, you would find them smiling”. ~Mirabel Osler…so true, so true:-)

    Like

    • Thank you Robbie, my garden is very humble and so it is my community plot, I dream with land…but instead, I try helping others to grow their food, access community plots and learn Permaculture…

      Like

