Tomorrow Never Knows


If I had a world of my own, everything would be nonsense. Nothing would be what it is, because everything would be what it isn’t. And contrary wise, what is, it wouldn’t be. And what it wouldn’t be, it would. You see?”
~ Lewis Carroll, Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland & Through the Looking-Glass

Follow my new blog here http://designemergencypreparedness.wordpress.com/ (and provide feedback…what you find useful/good, what you don’t like/gaps, etc)

Today I taught two intro to First Aid mini courses to ESL newcomers to Canada…it was, as it always is, fun and inspiring: I learn so much about them, myself and the world when I do this…

I teach Emergency Preparedness and First Aid to “vulnerable” groups around the Lower Mainland as we call all the cities and municipalities around Vancouver, including Vancouver itself.

I have loved “survivalism” for years, but need to be careful with this word as I don’t think I belong to those mainly “new” groups of preppers or survivalists that advocate for ammo and weapons and hoarding food and other stuff with the intention of isolating themselves and “survive” in the case of a disaster, collapse or any other catastrophe…

My “survivalism” comes from the exhilarating feeling I get by knowing myself able, strong and skilled to face and endure almost anything. The emotion that comes from learning about medicinal and wild edible plants, or knowing that we can treat a person’s illness or injury, prevent accidents and even disasters by designing more resilient and sustainable lives…

I see the same emotion in the eyes of those I present these workshops, how empowered they share they feel, how curious and eager to learn more they are, and how much fun we experience together…

When I was a teenager, the moments I enjoyed most were those when I would go with my friends to the forests to build shelters, create fire-breakers and share with communities living in remote areas…we camped out many times under storms and endured floods and mudslides…We laughed at hurricane Earl in 1998 when authorities in Savannah warned us and tried to evacuate the entire group: yes, there were fallen trees and floods and roads closed, but we had lived through much more intense things back in the Caribbean…

I don’t see EP/DM (emergency preparedness/disaster management) as “negative” or pessimistic approaches…I don’t run away from them! But I don’t become a slave of them either: I enjoy thinking about the natural cycles of life and how we deal (or avoid dealing) with them…

Same with First Aid: I emphasize the “prevention” piece of it and the thorough knowledge of the human body and systems it requires (and how this increases my passion for life and all its incredibly complex and wonderfully coordinated systems)…

My struggles, if we can call them that way, are to find sustainable and resilient ways to transition from a top-down and resource-intensive EP/DM and FA: we currently teach people to buy survival and First Aid kits full of plastic, and instead of emphasizing good design and prevention, we base most of our institutional disaster management plans on “relief” and “recovery”…

My intention with my new blog (which I encourage all of you to visit, play around, follow and provide feedback) is to educate people on EP/DM and FA from a Permaculture perspective: I truly believe that both individual and community preparedness (for emergencies and “disasters”) is the way to go: no top-down, not institutionalized, not government-driven…and that is through thoughtful observation, respect for Nature and systems (both out there and inside our bodies, minds and relationships we create and keep) that we can design ways to live in this planet so disasters become our friends, or natural parts of our lives, cycles we live with and accept…and that we can also design to avoid man-made disasters altogether…

The road ahead is long and unknown, I will never see the other end (nobody living today will), but what matters is to take responsibility, to become strong, to accept life and to enjoy every minute of it…

So play the game “Existence” to the end
Of the beginning, of the beginning
Of the beginning, of the beginning
Of the beginning, of the beginning
Of the beginning, of the beginning

~ The Beatles – Tomorrow Never Knows

To transform the world, we must begin with ourselves; and what is important in beginning with ourselves is the intention. The intention must be to understand ourselves and not to leave it to others to transform themselves or to bring about a modified change through revolution, either of the left or of the right. It is important to understand that this is our responsibility, yours and mine…”
~ Jiddu Krishnamurti

About Silvia TIC

Welcome to these exercises inside the dimensions of what we are: we are what we dream and think and feel, but we are also the different characters we perform, not just the roles (mother, wife, friend), but those things we call “occupations” or “earning a life”. More than anything, we are part of a giant ecosystem and all what we do connects and impacts others (people, animals, plants, air, water...)

Posted on June 24, 2014, in Activism, Balance Work and Life, Carbon Detox, Climate Change, Community, Community Building, Community Engagement, Community Resilience, Community Resources, Disaster Management, Education and Training, Emergency Preparedness, Empowering, Energy Descent Action Plan, Food Security, Food Sovereignty, Future Scenarios, Gift Economy, Immigrant Integration and Settlement, Independence, Life Choices, Natural Disasters, No Waste Living, Pay It Forward, Peak Oil, People's Power, Permaculture, Public Health, Reflections on an unsustainable world, Resilience, Resilient Living and Choices, Right Livelihood, Self-directed learning, Sharing Economy, Simply Living, Social Justice, Sustainable Living. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. inspiring

    Like

