The Peace of Wild Things


The clearest way into the Universe is through a forest wilderness.”
~ John Muir

Sleeping In The Forest
I thought the earth remembered me,
she took me back so tenderly,
arranging her dark skirts, her pockets
full of lichens and seeds.
I slept as never before, a stone on the river bed,
nothing between me and the white fire of the stars
but my thoughts, and they floated light as moths
among the branches of the perfect trees.
All night I heard the small kingdoms
breathing around me, the insects,
and the birds who do their work in the darkness.
All night I rose and fell, as if in water,
grappling with a luminous doom. By morning
I had vanished at least a dozen times
into something better
.”
~ Mary Oliver, Twelve Moons

Big Maple branching out to the sky

Big Maple branching out to the sky

Day after day I take the bus, the train, then walk and back all over again

The test says I’m cut for it and therefore I should stay

Certificates, degrees, status, formalities

I never really cared

Deadlines, assignments, commitments…

My heart is somewhere else

Me and teacher Maga...and the amazing forest

Me and teacher Maga…and the amazing forest

Four years old, already in love with the forests and the trees: the old giant ombu, the incredible eucalyptuses, the laughing poplars…

Everyone else playing sports, chatting about nonsense and me, the child of the woods, laying under a tree, hidden in the forest, playing with twigs, worms and leaves

The Monster comes closer and sometimes screams, but I’m no longer afraid

I’m not afraid of the eternal cycle of return and rebirth, in a way, I look forward to it

When things go wrong, when all starts to fade, I return

My friend the Big Maple

My friend the Big Maple

The loneliness creeping higher, the many ghosts hiding…

And opposed to the human world, my tree friends never disappoint…

Autumn walk into a forest path

Autumn walk into a forest path

“When despair for the world grows in me

and I wake in the night at the least sound

in fear of what my life and my children’s lives may be,

I go and lie down where the wood drake

rests in his beauty on the water, and the great heron feeds.

I come into the peace of wild things

who do not tax their lives with forethought

of grief. I come into the presence of still water.

And I feel above me the day-blind stars

waiting with their light. For a time

I rest in the grace of the world, and am free.”

~ Wendell Berry – The Peace of Wild Things

About Silvia TIC

Welcome to these exercises inside the dimensions of what we are: we are what we dream and think and feel, but we are also the different characters we perform, not just the roles (mother, wife, friend), but those things we call “occupations” or “earning a life”. More than anything, we are part of a giant ecosystem and all what we do connects and impacts others (people, animals, plants, air, water...)

Posted on December 20, 2015, in Carbon Detox, Forests, Life Choices, Resilience, Resilient Living and Choices, Right Livelihood, Samsara, Spiritual Journeys. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

